Donate to Brookdale

Barringer Award

Barringer ceremony

The Brookdale Community College Alumni Association and Brookdale Community College will host the 35th Annual Barringer Awards Dinner on Friday, May 1, 2020 at the Essex & Sussex Hotel in Spring Lake.

This annual award is presented to individuals who best epitomize the quality of excellence in education. It is named for Brookdale’s third president, Dr. Bob Barringer who passed away in June 2017.

The recipients are selected by the Alumni Association Board of Trustees using the following criteria and the materials submitted by their nominators.

  1. Outstanding service to students via the classroom or other College-sponsored educational activities that enhance students’ educational experiences and opportunity to succeed (30%)
  2. Outstanding service to the institution in a leadership or inspirational role (30%)
  3. Outstanding service to the community that reflects well on the institution and enhances the College’s image (30%)
  4. Length of service (10%)

Please complete and submit the online nomination form by January 31, 2020.

Past Barringer Award Recipients

1986 Bob Barringer
1987 Arthur Marshal
1988 Gordon Litwin
1989 Jean Badgley
1990 Seymor Siegler, Jacob Needle
1991 Gershom G.N. Tomilson
1992 The Monmouth County Board of Chosen Freeholders
1993 Barbara Gonos, Joe King
1994 Noel Kubel
1995 Carl Calendar
1996 Duncan Circle, Jeung H. Kim, Norma Klein
1997 Paul MacLaughlin, Thomas Richards
1998 Richard J. Connors, James Palumbo, Carol McCartin
1999 Sue Desideradto, Louis Pullano, Richard Sorrell
2000 Mike Toomey, Jack Ryan
2001 Elizabeth Twohy, Terrie Wyatt
2002 Virginia Lee, C. Webster Boodey
2003 Cheryl Cummings, Vinnie Gorman, Irma Lester
2004 Peter Burnham
2005 Lee Blaustein, Jaqueline Kugit, Donald Warner
2006 Lois Higbe, Arnold Gelfman, Susan Rosenberg
2007 Barbara Baron, Richard Pfeffer, Anthony Snyder
2008 Doug Welsh, Pat Gallo Villee, Paul Zigo
2009 Karen D’Agostino, Doris Hudak, Webster Trammel
2010 Sherri West, Maris Lown and Terry Konn-Karangwa
2011 Norah Kerr-McCurry, Jayne McBride and the Foundation Board of Trustees
2012 Eric Goll, Bruce Marich and Thomas (Bo) Scannapieco
2013 Linda Mass, Michael Qaissaunee and Sally Sorrell
2014 Thomas Berke, Linda Wang, Eleanor Horgan, Louis Ferendo
2015 Jim Crowder, Helen Vota, Jess Le Vine
2016 Roseanne Alvarez, Howard Miller, Joan Rudinski
2017 Debbie Mura, Laura Longo, Shahin Pirzad
2018 Barbara Boyington, John Bukovec, Joan Scocco
2019 David Stout, Ave Latte, Nancy Liu