In accordance with College regulation 2.0012R, Official Recognition of Members of Community and Guests of the College, the Honorary Degree Committee accepts nominations for honorary degree recipients, after which the Committee votes on proposed candidates. The public and the college community (employees, students, Trustees, and alumni) are notified and encouraged to nominate a candidate worthy of this honor. Honorary Degrees will be presented at Commencement in May 2023.  The deadline for nominations is Friday, February 3.

To be eligible for consideration, a nominee needs to have achieved excellence in one or more of the following:

Honorary Degree Committee Members are Eric Goll, Faculty; Dinneen Jackson, Administration; and, Lauren Sheehy, Alumna.

  • Demonstrated accomplishments in any professional field.
  • For example, in community service, or any area in which nominee's participation acts as an example to others.
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

Questions? Contact Nancy Kaari, Vice President of Advancement at or Eric Goll, Chemistry, at

Past Honorary Degree Recipients

2005—2006 Dr. Margaret Parker
2006—2007 George Waple, Kevin Smith
2007—2008 Rev. Dr. Henry Davis, Tim McLoone
2008-2009 Denny Walling, Greg Mortenson
2009-2010 Gwendolyn Love, Barbara McMorrow
2012 Rev. Robert F. Kaeding
2013 Risa Clay
2014 Marshawn Love, Cindy Zipf
2015 David Prown and David Goldman
2016 Bernard Weinstein and Norma Hardy
2017 Carlos Rodriguez
2018 Carol Stillwell, Bob & Joan Rechnitz, Marilyn Schlossbach
2019 Dianne Raver and Francine Acquaviva
2020 Thomas F. Hayes and Roy Lamanna
2021 Chaz Salvatore Bono
2022 Danny Clinch & Maria Barba-Clinch and DonnaLyn Giegerich-Zapcic