Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society (PTK) is celebrating its 32nd anniversary at Brookdale Community College and recently received the Chapter Gold and the Five Star Chapter awards. In addition, last year, their Officer Team was among the distinguished Chapter Officer Teams for the Middle States Region and 1200 chapters of the PTK Honor Society.

Several individuals were also recently honored. Julio Santiago, vice president of Leadership, is a NASA Fellow and a Five Star Chapter Member for this year and last year was named Distinguished Chapter Member. This year, Daniella Mannarino, vice president of Service, is one of the All-USA Academic Team nominees. She is an HFTP scholar for outstanding achievement by hospitality students. Cathleen Kane is the second All-USA Academic Team nominee. She was recognized last year as a PTK Leader of Promise, and she is this year’s Five Star Chapter Member.

This year the Chapter introduced a new chapter officer position. Belinda Asimoah was named vice president of Wellness. She is focusing on providing resources and information to the students for wellness and self-care. Belinda is a Wilbur Ray Scholar and was invited to be the student representative on the search committee for the director of the Wellness Center that will be opening next year.

The following students hold additional chapter officer positions:  Aubree Prendergast is vice president of Membership this year and has recently been accepted into Rider University, the recipient of the President’s Leadership Award Scholarship;  and Linda Truong is a Global Citizenship Award Winner and won the Bankier Library Research Award. Linda is vice president of Scholarship and is using her talents this year to share all of the information she can with our students about scholarship opportunities.

For more information about how to get involved in the PTK Honor Society, email or go to: