New Jersey Community Colleges Honor Outstanding Student Scholars and Leaders:
Thirty-Seven (37) Students Named to the 2021 New Jersey All-State Academic Team

New Jersey’s 18 Community Colleges, as the only educational institutions with statewide reach, provide essential opportunities to more than 300,000 residents each year including the most vulnerable. Over 200,000 students – more than half of all undergraduate students in public colleges and universities in the state – are enrolled in credit and degree programs at New Jersey’s Community Colleges. Equity and access priorities are advanced every day with over half of the total undergraduate enrollment in New Jersey Community Colleges being non-white students.

Yesterday, the New Jersey Council of County Colleges (NJCCC) honored 37 students from the state’s 18 Community Colleges for being named to the 2021 New Jersey All-State Academic Team for their outstanding academic achievements and exceptional service to their communities and colleges. These outstanding students are members of the Community College honors society of Phi Theta Kappa. The 27th Annual New Jersey Community College Scholars Celebration was held virtually on Tuesday, June 8, 2021, from 5:30 to 6:30 p.m.

Assemblywoman and Deputy Speaker Pamela Lampitt (Legislative District 36) served as the keynote speaker and encouraged these phenomenal students with the inspiring story of her road to where she is today. She ended by telling the Phi Theta Kappa students, “you’re all remarkable … the doors are opening for you and I hope you walk through them without trepidation or fear.” Assemblywoman Lampitt was the author and champion of the 2008 Lampitt Law which provides a comprehensive statewide transfer agreement designed to facilitate a smooth transfer from a New Jersey Community College to the New Jersey public four-year colleges and universities.

“Even amid the COVID-19 pandemic, New Jersey’s Community College students have maintained their unwavering commitment to scholarship, leadership, service, and fellowship,” said Dr. Phil Linfante (NJCCC Chairman). “The 37 high-achieving students truly represent the very best in postsecondary education in their communities and are committed to making a difference in their lives and the lives of others,” said Dr. Aaron Fichtner (NJCCC President).

The 2021 New Jersey All-State Academic Team members are:

• Atlantic Cape Community College: Lily Chowdhury (Galloway) and Rose Melanie Shaw (Egg Harbor;
• Bergen Community College: Genesis Capellán (Englewood) and Dahyun (Crystal) Yoo (Hackensack);
• Brookdale Community College: Heather O’Donnell (Little Silver) and Cecilia Alcantar (South Amboy);
• Camden County College: Emma Brellochs (Philadelphia) and Jackie Dursch (Sicklerville);
• Essex County College: Anne Alabson (Newark) and Joseph Rivera (Belleville);
• Hudson County Community College: Sofia Pazmino (Jersey City) and Darciane Barbieri-Eltz (Jersey City);
• Mercer County Community College: Patricia Vieira (Princeton) and Brian Amigh (Lawrenceville);
• Middlesex College: Sanjana Butala (New Brunswick) and Medhavi Anand (Monmouth Junction);
• County College of Morris: Jenna Curran (Denville) and Hans Alexander Drexler Rivero (Flanders);
• Ocean County College: Kaitlyn Barrett (Brick) and Anaheed Dakrat (Toms River);
• Passaic County Community College: Edwin Lotero (Paterson) and Bianca Osma (Clifton);
• Raritan Valley Community College: Danielle Marzigliano (Hackettstown) and Samuel CartagenaSergenian (Somerset);
• Rowan College at Burlington County: Adelaide Akosua Ababio (Beverly) and Christopher Zacharko (Cinnaminson);
• Rowan College of South Jersey, Cumberland: De’Chyna King (Vineland) and Araya Baldwin (Vineland);
• Rowan College of South Jersey, Gloucester: Ashton Paladino (Williamstown) and Jamilah Davis (Deptford);
• Salem Community College: Joelle Martins (Pedricktown);
• Sussex County Community College: Iliana Mendoza Cobos (Newton) and Rhiannon Bender (Hopatcong);
• Union County College: Julia Landicho (Union) and Ahmed Mashaal (Cranford); and
• Warren County Community College: James Unterwald (Stewartville) and Olena Shutko (Hackettstown).

Exceptionally, two New Jersey Community College students have been named to the 2021 All-USA Academic Team, sponsored by Cengage, Phi Theta Kappa, and the American Association of Community Colleges (AACC). Those students are Dayhun (Crystal) Yoo (Bergen Community College) and Bianca Osma (Passaic County Community College).

About NJCCC: New Jersey’s 18 agile and innovative Community Colleges are prepared to lead in the response to and recovery from this public health and economic crisis and to secure a brighter future for all New Jerseyans. The New Jersey Council of County Colleges provides statewide leadership for the advancement of New Jersey Community Colleges, performs coordinating responsibilities as required by law, and coordinates statewide efforts to build a skilled workforce and improve student success. We encourage you to visit our website at

#ProvenSUccess #NJAIIStateAcademicTeam #ptkmiddlestates #phithetakappa #IamPTK
@NJCommColleges @NJ Community Colleges @phithetakappa @middlestatesptk