Distinguished Alumni Awards

Overhead shot of students in arena showing caps

The prestigious “Distinguished Alumni” award is presented to selected alumni (graduates/attendees) whose professional, personal and/or civic accomplishments and service to the community have earned them unquestionable recognition. This year’s award will be presented at the College Commencement ceremonies on May 12, 2017.

A “Call for Nominations” was distributed by the Brookdale Alumni Association to the college community and the community at large with a nomination deadline of January 29, 2017.

The award recognizes alumni for professional achievements (demonstrated accomplishment(s) in any field of professional endeavor) and personal achievements (demonstrated accomplishment in any field of community service or any area where active participation demonstrates that the nominee is a shining example for others).

Two alumni have been selected for 2017.

Deborah Josko ’85

Deborah earned an A.A.S. degree in Medical Laboratory Technology from Brookdale. Despite working full-time, she went on to earn a B.S. Biology and M.S. Molecular Biology from Georgian Court University and a PhD in Biomedical Informatics from the University of Medicine and Dentistry.

Dr. Josko has served as Associate Professor/Director Medical Laboratory Science Program at Rutgers University-School of Health Professionals for more than 20 years. She has  also served on and chaired numerous committees on the national and state levels including serving as President of the American Society for Clinical Laboratory Science New Jersey Chapter (2004-2006). She is a published author and is nationally known in the Clinical Laboratory and Clinical Microbiology fields.

Among her many awards are Outstanding Adjunct Instructor Award in Science at Brookdale; Court of Honor- Distinguished Alumnus Award at Georgian Court University; Distinguished Author Award and Outstanding Educator of the Year Award from the American Society for Clinical Laboratory Science; and inducted into the Master Educator Guild at Rutgers University. She is certified by the American Society for Clinical Pathology as a Medical Laboratory Technician, Microbiologist, and Specialist in Microbiology.

Dr. Josko is a strong advocate for community college education and is proud to say the reason she has always had a job since graduating from Brookdale in 1985 is because she earned a profession at Brookdale not just a degree.

Brian Hanlon

Brian Hanlon attended Brookdale in 1979 and left to work in New York City as an ironworker and teamster before re-enrolling at Brookdale. He went onto earn a B.A. in Art Education at Monmouth University.  Hanlon took graduate level courses towards a Master of Sculpture degree at Boston University from 1988-1990. Because of his advanced knowledge and skill, Hanlon left school early to work as a sculptor full-time.

He is a classically trained master sculptor and founder of Hanlon Sculpture Studio. With the creation of over 300 public and private art pieces since 1987, Hanlon is a nationally-acclaimed artist from Toms River, New Jersey, specializing in bronze statues and plazas. He is currently serving as the Official Sculptor for the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame. He has received national awards and commendations.

On a volunteer basis Brian designed and sculpted three (3) figures in bronze, designed the plaza and inscribed granite plinths (large and small) for the New Jersey Gold Star Family Memorial on the grounds of the New Jersey Vietnam Veteran’s Memorial and Vietnam Era Museum & Educational Center in Holmdel, NJ.

Hanlon recently unveiled a new exhibit, “Historic Figures in Bronze,” in the CVA Gallery at Brookdale. The sculptures, some of which stand more than seven feet tall, are a sampling of the more than 300 public art pieces Hanlon has created for schools, universities, churches, memorial foundations and other organizations in New Jersey and throughout the country.