Brookdale Community College’s Director of Athletics and Recreation, and the National Junior College Athletic Association (NJCAA) Region XIX Women’s Director, Katelyn P. Amundson, received the 2022 Ron Case Athletic Director of the Year Award. This prestigious award is presented annually to a Region XIX Athletic Director for their commitment and positive contributions to their campus, region, and surrounding communities.  

Thirty-two colleges from Pennsylvania, New Jersey, and Delaware participate in Region XIX of the National Junior College Athletic Association.  

Amundson, an alum of Brookdale and two-sport Academic All-American student-athlete, served as assistant coach for the women’s soccer team for two years before being named the head coach in the fall of 2011, a position she had until the fall of 2020. She became the assistant director of athletics in 2013, and in October 2018, Amundson was named director of athletics at Brookdale.  

During her tenure, Amundson has been instrumental in leading the Jersey Blues program to several conferences and regional and national titles. 

Additionally, because of her exceptional student-focused efforts continued commitment to academic success and community service, Amundson has recently been appointed to the NJCAA Division III Oversight Committee, overseeing the direction of Division III athletics within the NJCAA. The committee will serve as the voice of Division III programs across the country, overseeing and guiding several initiatives related to the student-athlete experience. 

“The Ron Case Athletic Director of the Year Award is named for the former RCSJ-Gloucester athletic director and Region 19 women’s director. Case served as the Director of Athletics at RCSJ-Gloucester for 25 years, guiding the Roadrunners to impressive Regional and National Championships, including capturing the elusive Learfield Cup. Case is a 5-time national AD of the Year and has served on the NATYCAA executive committee since 1993, an organization that honored him with their highest award, the L. William Miller Award, in 2002.