Honorary Degree recipients

In accordance with College regulation 2.0012R, Official Recognition of Members of Community and Guests of the College, the Honorary Degree Committee accepts nominations for honorary degree recipients, after which the Committee votes on proposed candidates. The public and the college community (employees, students, trustees, and alumni) are notified and encouraged to nominate a candidate worthy of this honor. The award will be presented at the College Commencement ceremonies in May. The deadline for nominations is Friday, January 26, 2024.

To be eligible for consideration, a nominee needs to have achieved excellence in one or more of the following:

Professional Accomplishments
Community/Public Service
Personal Accomplishments
Inspirational Life Achievements (with which the candidate might inspire Brookdale students)

Honorary Degree Nomination Form

  • Demonstrated accomplishments in any professional field.
  • For example, in community service, or any area in which nominee's participation acts as an example to others.
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

Past Honorary Degree Recipients

2006 Dr. Margaret Parker
2007 George Waple, Kevin Smith
2008 Rev. Dr. Henry Davis, Tim McLoone
2009 Denny Walling, Greg Mortenson
2010 Gwendolyn Love, Barbara McMorrow
2012 Rev. Robert F. Kaeding
2013 Risa Clay
2014 Marshawn Love, Cindy Zipf
2015 David Prown and David Goldman
2016 Bernard Weinstein and Norma Hardy
2017 Carlos Rodriguez
2018 Carol Stillwell, Bob & Joan Rechnitz, Marilyn Schlossbach
2019 Dianne Raver and Francine Acquaviva
2020 Thomas F. Hayes and Roy Lamanna
2021 Chaz Salvatore Bono
2022 Danny Clinch & Maria Barba-Clinch and DonnaLyn Giegerich-Zapcic
2023 Douglas Quinn and Stephanie Hueston