Disclaimer: The content on this webpage appears as a courtesy to site visitors and is for general informational purposes only. To obtain a copy of the official applicable policy or regulation, please contact Brookdale’s Public Records Custodian via the Public Records webpage of the Brookdale website at https://www.brookdalecc.edu/about/public-records
I. Title of Policy
*”Chargeback” means the charge from a receiving Community College to a County which sends students to attend the receiving Community College at in-county tuition rates.
“Community College” means a community or county-assisted college established pursuant to N.J.S.A. 18A:64A-1 et seq.
II. Objective of Policy
To set reimbursement guidelines for eligible non-Monmouth County and in-County students.
New Jersey Statutes 18A:3B et seq., 18A:64A-12 and N.J.S.A. 18A:64A-23
IV. Policy Statement
New Jersey Community Colleges are in part supported by County taxes which automatically subsidize education for their County residents. Under provisions of the “Chargeback Assistance Law”, N.J.S.A. 18A:64A-23 (2013), a person who is a legal resident of a County in New Jersey and attends a Community College in another New Jersey County may be eligible to receive a Chargeback Approval and receive the benefits of in-county tuition rates for the College they attend.
A student shall be eligible to attend Brookdale Community College on a Chargeback basis if the student’s local county or county-assisted college cannot admit the student into a particular course or program of study desired by the student due to it not being offered as part of the college’s regular course curriculum or catalog or as a result of a lack of available space in the course or program of study, which continues or will continue over one year from the initial date of attempted admission. These same factors will be considered for Monmouth County residents who wish to attend a county or county-assisted college outside of Monmouth County. Monmouth County residents will be required to provide evidence of residency in the county for at least 12 months and additional documentation related to their program of study/course enrollment.
Additional consideration for Chargeback eligibility will be given to those students who live more than 30 miles from their local county or county-assisted college, and live closer in proximity to a county or county-assisted college located outside of their county of residence. Eligibility based on mileage will be determined by the in-county or county-assisted college in which the student resides. Upon accepting out-of-county students, Brookdale Community College shall charge the differential chargeback rates as determined by the State Treasurer in consultation with the Council of County Colleges.
Brookdale Community College shall provide to the sending counties:
A. Certification of each chargeback student’s current semester’s enrollment, by course and by program, on its chargeback billing;
B. Certification of the previous year’s audited resident enrollments and audited level of county support;
C. The current year course catalog.
V. Responsibility for Implementation
Approved: Board of Trustees 4/28/2020